Sunday, February 19, 2017
Home » Events » 4th Annual Franklin Shrimp Boil

4th Annual Franklin Shrimp Boil

4th Annual Franklin Tomorrow Shrimp Boil & Volunteer Awards

Franklin Tomorrow’s 4th Annual Shrimp Boil, presented by First Tennessee, will be held July 10 in The Shed at The Factory at Franklin, just outside the Cool Springs area.  The highlight of the evening being the presentation of several awards to honor dedicated community volunteers.

Finalists for the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award include Andy Menzyk, nominated by Ann Buchanan for his work with United Way of Williamson County; Isaac “Ike” Brown, nominated by Steve Smith for Brown’s work as chairman of the Williamson Medical Center Board of Trustees; and John M. Green, local Scoutmaster for Troop 137, nominated by Fred Reynolds and Ronald Crutcher, for his years of service and the impact of his leadership on the lives of thousands of young men.

Named in honor of longtime community volunteer Anne T. Rutherford, the award honors an individual who is involved in a variety of community activities, with leadership in one or more organization.

“This award is given to someone with a heart for service and a dedication to the community at large,” said Natalie Dodd, Franklin Tomorrow executive director.

Also to given July 10 will be three Volunteer Spirit Awards, which honor individuals who are involved either in a variety of community activities or primarily in one organization as a significant volunteer.

Finalists for this award are Amy Law for her work with Waves Inc.; David Crane for his work with Hard Bargain Mt. Hope Redevelopment; David Garrett for his leadership with the Heritage Foundation of Franklin and Williamson County; Ginger Smith for her work with the Williamson County Child Advocacy Center; Lori Orme for her work with A Vintage Affair; Bennie Woolam for his willingness to help his neighbors with projects even as he nears 100 years old; the late Ned Lea for his work with the Land Trust of Tennessee and Harpeth River Watershed Association; Angela Overstreet for her work in creating First United Methodist’s Emergency Response Team; Rudy and Peter Jordan, for their work and dedication to historic preservation; and the finalists for the Anne T Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award.

The Youth Initiative Award will be presented as well on July 10. Finalists for this award are Baker Watkins
for his work with Labor of Love, which works with Nashville’s homeless population; Mariel D’Andrea for
her work with Becca’s Closet, which provides prom fashions for those who cannot afford them; and
Meredith Medlin for her work with Feed Our Souls, which reaches out to the homeless on the streets of

The winner of the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award will receive a $500 gift in

Franklin, TN

their name to their sponsoring charity and winners in other categories will receive $100 gifts to their charities, thanks to the generosity of Susan and Walter Gorman and Ernie and Nell Bacon, who underwrite the awards.

Reservations are required for the event, which has limited seating. Tickets to the Franklin Tomorrow Shrimp Boil, presented by First Tennessee, are available online at for $50 per person, which includes a shrimp boil dinner with all the trimmings from Boxwood Bistro and wines provided by BooneDocks Distribution. The event will start at 5:30 p.m. and entertainment will be provided by the Highland Rim Band.

For more information, call (615) 794-0998.